Home » Uncategorized » Once Upon a Time…

Once Upon a Time…

Once upon a time there was a girl. Nothing she did was forced upon her. She had choices. Fun. Love. Happiness. Then it all began to crumble around her and because she had no experience of the horrible things that life could throw at her she was flummoxed. She tried to find answers to questions like ‘Why would a man who said he loves you, hit you?’ But there was no answer and so she left him. She floundered and made things up. She wouldn’t tell anyone the truth about her life. She said ‘It’s okay. I got this.’ She said it a lot even when she didn’t. She’d smile the whole time. People liked her.

Even when she’d go to her torn up, cheap, falling down rental house with a tarp on the roof. She would smile all the way up the driveway and up the back porch stairs, because someone tore the front stairs off years ago and there was no front door. She’d smile her way into the house and then sit on her sprung sofa, with the sharp edged linoleum floor that never got clean, and she’d cry and cry and cry. Because she didn’t have this. She didn’t know who to ask and for what. She would cry and take bathes. Sit on the back porch and look over the fence and hope no one came to disturb her because she was tired of smiling.

Then she left. One day she packed one suitcase, loaded her 3 cats into the front of her 1985 Dodge pick up truck, and she left everything she owned behind. It was time to start a new life. Start off with nothing again. She had nothing, now she had nothing again.

And for 6 months it was wonderful. She got a job she liked. She found a tiny 450 sq ft house in the driveway of a mansion. A gate house. It had a porch and was surrounded by pine trees. She painted it green and raspberry and hung up curtains.

Then there was an accident. It killed the best man she’d ever known. It almost killed her sister. It tore up her family and it tore a gaping hole through her shiny new life.

She went back to the town and arranged his funeral. It was the hardest thing she’d ever done. No one was there to help. He had family, he had hundreds of friends but everyone was so shocked that they were immobile. And the sister was going crazy. She wouldn’t talk. She wouldn’t answer questions. Her brothers and her mother and her sister were all there but no one talked to her. Every day for 5 days she would get up and start doing things that needed to be done. It’s not easy to bury a man.

The girl had sat beside his coffin in the funeral home alone, waiting. For something. For someone to come. But no one did. She handed them the clothes she’d brought to dress him in. The ones she remembered he liked. His favorite hat, his shorts, his tee shirt. She wondered if that was right. She remembered him teaching her to fish in the river wearing that very pair of shorts and hat and that tee shirt. They left her there and she sat for a long time and finally she said good by to him and she told him she would take care of his wife and she left.

She drove to a lake and watched the clouds in the water. Then she got up and smiled. Yes, it was time. She arranged payments for the services and made notices and drove around putting them up in his home town. It was up the valley a ways. She put the notices on telephone poles and in bars and grocery stores, smiling when she thought someone was looking at her. She was trying not to cry.

When there was nothing left to do she sat in the parking lot of the funeral home and waited for them to bring him out in the urn she’d found at a store. It wasn’t a real urn. It was a Chinese vase. And she’d found a lid made of ceramic that they could glue on top. There wasn’t much money and she didn’t know how to get any more. So she waited. It was in a parking a lot across the street from a Circle K quick mart. She just sat for hours watching people go in and out. And finally they gave him to her.

And as she drove home, back to the town that was once her home, with his urn on the front seat beside her, it was still warm. And she talked to him. All that long drive home she talked to him. And when she got to the sisters house she got hit and punched and screamed at because the sister couldn’t handle her grief and there she was with her husband in a jar. She had to leave at midnight in her truck and go park in the dark on a dirt road and try to think of a reason not to just drive over the edge.

And when the funeral was over, and there were so many shocked and grieving people, the Mom decided there was no chance for grief or goodbyes. Not for her. She didn’t see her sister or her brothers again. The Mom and her, they left early in the morning the next day when it was still gray and dim. It was time to leave. Immediately.

And so she swallowed it all down again, all the grief and sorrow and terror and she drove and drove back to the place she was living and she went into her raspberry and green house and she realized that the second half of her life was going to be about crying. Eventually she brought her sister and her niece away from that little town and got a bigger house and they lived together. She knew there were things that were going to be taken away from her. She needed to work more to pay the bills. To support her family. She needed to be careful. There was no time for travel or vacation or writing or painting. No. All the time, loss was the new lesson she was learning. It was going to be rammed down her throat. She would accept loss. Small losses, big ones, didn’t matter, things would be taken from her. It didn’t matter if it was dignity or pride, it was going to be taken. She lost her beautiful niece. She cried and when she stopped, she would smile and smile.

It wasn’t enough.

She started bleeding one day and it didn’t stop. She lay down on the bathroom floor and looked at the beautiful, cool linoleum and she was dying. She didn’t call out for help. She didn’t do anything. She lay there bleeding.

And her dog found her and got her sister to come and there was chaos. The new life she was making for her widowed sister, the nice clean rental house they’d found, the excitement of moving in, even that had fallen apart. It was gone.

She had stage 4 ovarian cancer and it was all through her. There was surgery and radiation and chemotherapy and she got sicker and sicker. Then her dog died. Then her cat died. Then the other cat died. It was all too much.

She smiled in the face of all this shit storm because that was the only thing she knew how to do. She is still smiling. She was smiling when they told her it had come back. She was smiling when they told her there was more surgery and new drugs. She is still smiling. There is no difference between smiling and not smiling.

I just lean out the window and look at the field. I’m so terribly tired. I’m not sorry about anything. Not anymore. I feel empty. I am hollow.

Now, I am in chemotherapy again. I am on new drugs. They are terrible things, these drugs. They make me feel as if I have the flu, while suffering the worst hangover I’ve ever had and I tried to fix it with a few grams of cocaine.

And my boss talked to me about smiling. She wants me to smile. She said I needed to be nicer to the customers at work. Two days after chemotherapy, after all this news, she told me to smile.

Really.

Once upon a time there was a girl and she used up all her good times when she was young…and in the end there was nothing left to do but smile.

20140608-173614-63374910.jpg

14 thoughts on “Once Upon a Time…

  1. I saw your picture and my heart broke. Last week my neighbor told me she had breast cancer. My heart broke for her and her husband. I know from the caregiver perspective, there are no words of comfort. Nothing can be said that will make you feel better. I’ll be praying you beat this demon this time. I’ll be praying you don’t feel so lousy. Cancer sucks!

  2. Powerful writing yet again, and your admirable trait to help others when faced with such sadness is why you should smile…people will (and do) see the strength in you. Take care.

    • Oh Sheri, we don’t get to choose but it’s a better life than many ever get a chance to live. It’s these last 10 or 11 years that make me wonder…

  3. I am 41 years old… Close to 95 kilos in weight and 1,83 m. tall… I have seen friends and family face cancer and fall or resist, most usually with their chins up and struggling to smile, whatever was the outcome… Today I read your words and again this guy who everyone sees as a Big Bull feels little and weak as a child comparing himself with the real strength of people like you. Like aunt Antonia, like my friend Vicente, or like Maria, that girl who took my virginity away so many years ago… You are a living proof that human strength does not reside in muscle and bone. I wish I could make you smile inside. Get a big hug from Spain, Laura.

  4. What can I say but send a bug hug… There is a lump in my throat… A friend has also had a reoccurrence of Ovarian Cancer last month… Gosh this cancer can be cruel…. ❤️❤️

  5. To put a like on this post needs something more.
    Why do I like this post, it is admiration for the one posting it.
    Some people when they have little left can still have courage. _/\_

  6. Once upon a time there was a girl who saw the beauty in everything, even when writing about terrible things that should never happen but did, it was still beautiful…I’ve put a hex on your boss xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    • Hex accepted. I hope it was a gentle one (what other kind could you offer?) to just give me short shifts and be NICE!
      I am going to get through this…and I swear I will never again take a moment of my future for granted…I’ve learned my lesson. Sometimes you just have to turn and face the wind and not let it beat you down. I look at the bunny picture…

  7. What to make of it, I don’t know, Laura. Too much is being thrown at you that it beggars belief. There is sunshine and real smiles around the corner up ahead. You might even get to say “Screw you” to that jackass boss of yours. That’ll give you a big smile in itself 🙂
    Beautiful writing too and that’s something to carry forward. Something of your very own that no one can take away or corrupt.
    Wishing you more good days/hours than bad, more friendly faces than criticizing bosses, more pretty raspberry-walled gatehouses than hospital wards and more lovely men whose memory you will treasure. Because those are the things you so deserve, Miss Laura. And they will be yours, believe it! XO!

    • It’s a funny thing Jackie…I sometimes wondered how I lived such a charmed life. All the way up to my 40’s I was blessed with so much fun and love and energy and excitement. I had the best boyfriends, jobs, vacations, it seemed sometimes that all I had to do was wish for it and it was mine. But once in a while a thought would creep in…’When is the other shoe going to drop?’ “How can one person have this much luck?’ and, quite often, ‘Why ME?’ I tried to respond by being very very good, very kind, very patient and very generous. And the shoe, well, it has hit the fan-to mix metaphors. I think maybe I needed to talk that out…it flew off the fingers and it let me see some of the things that have troubled me. I am trying very hard to get through this latest round of chemo. It’s a pure bitch this time. Side effects are well…if I am paying for an enchanted life, I think by Oct by debt will be paid in FULL! Positive thoughts…yes.

  8. You know….I see the selfie and I see a gorgeous individual who lives as best she can. I am amazed. You have touched people through your challenges more than you know. It doesn’t seem like it, but it is there, in the air, growing. You are there, in the ether, sharing — beautiful with or without a smile.

    Now step away — my evilness will come through….as for your Boss? Payback is a Bitch. Some people are just so clueless.

    • You are like a breathe of fresh, cool night air blowing through my window and washing away all the stuffiness and heat…and even when there’s nothing but stuffy hot air to breathe I remember what Diana Vreeland said.
      “Worse things have happened at sea.” ahhhhh….
      OH, and my boss? She knitted me a gorgeous rainbow coloured scarf out of silk and alpaca. She gave it to me today along with a matching hat knitted by another co worker. I can’t even be mad at her it’s so lovely and thoughtful. It’s true. It must be there in the air, growing.

There is no sin except stupidity.

