Home » Food-Recipes & Healthy Cooking » Volunteering at its very Best. My Heroes from Arms Around Bainbridge to the Rescue!

Volunteering at its very Best. My Heroes from Arms Around Bainbridge to the Rescue!

My heroes, coming today to put in a raised bed garden for me.

My heroes, coming today to put in a raised bed garden for me.

These people are the ones you strive to be. The ones who make the time in their busy schedules to find someone in need and help. They buy food, ferry passes, help pay bills (even the BIG hospital sized ones)invite you to fabulous parties with great food, in beautiful homes, they do this all with a smile and a joke and a hug. Gracious is the word, it defines them. Except Don who is also just darned funny!

So today my AAB Volunteers are coming to my rescue. They asked me what I wanted, not needed, they put those fires out, but needed? Me? I wanted to grow food and flowers. I could juice my own stuff, I could sell the extra at the farmers market down the street. I could sit outside and weed and get healthy…what do I want?

A chance to participate in my recovery. Not just lie there, like I did yesterday, with bags and bags of stuff slowly dripping into that big vein next to my heart.

What do I want? I want to turn over dirt, pull out big tufts of bunch grass, dig in compost, hammer, nail, screw, lift, carry, run and fetch, drink gallons of cold tea, and at dusk, clean up, make dinner and sit outside afterwards and look at our handiwork, toasting everyone with a glass of wine.

But that’s not going to happen today. Today, I will sit and watch. I will pour tea and offer cookies. I’ll watch my heroes, my Mom! My sister, my brother, the volunteers…
But I’ll get in there somehow…more later.

image

Well, I just got sidelined. I was only raking and throwing the clippings into the hen yard. It’s starting to smell nice, grass clippings and sawn cedar. I had to come lie down. Just for a minute.

I feel FINE! I feel FINE![/caption]

What a great day. My barren front yard transformed into a garden in the space of hours.

This is what it looked like at 8am. Weed whacking under way....

This is what it looked like at 8am. Weed whacking under way….

;The containers under construction...

The containers under construction…

My brother, Richard.

My brother, Richard.

Building the containers...

Building the containers

The layout begins

The layout begins

Love this one!

Love this one!

aThe consultation, this would have gone a lot smoother if the hadn't asked me.

The consultation, this would have gone a lot smoother if the hadn’t asked me.

aA decision and the first dump truck load of soil.

A decision and the first dump truck load of soil.

Don working the whacker

Don working the whacker

Putting out snacks and drinks

Putting out snacks and drinks

Richard bolting the containers together Richard bolting the containers together[/caption]

aMy sister, Liza

My sister, Liza

Sidelined again but I’ll take more pictures tomorrow…what a splendiferous day! Thank you everyone, from the bottom of my heart…

7 thoughts on “Volunteering at its very Best. My Heroes from Arms Around Bainbridge to the Rescue!

    • Thanks Andra, I got in there today and it was heaven, smelling dirt, cut grass and fresh cut cedar…it just doesn’t get better than this. Wait until I can post pics of the finished containers. Couldn’t get pics today but lots were taken! I’ll be out there first thing in the morning!

  1. We do need to learn to sit and watch sometimes, all of us… to simply enjoy friendships and help. To let others help and in turn when the time comes, to help. We are each other’s hero. I’m so happy for you, that you found so many who care and are there for you. That’s a great find! The picture is a great shot! Have a better today than yesterday, Laura šŸ˜€

      • I see you’ve updated your photos. And yes, I see now what you meant tiring. These are wonderful friends helping you out! The plot looks great and I’m sure you will get your hands dirty very soon. Stay happy šŸ˜€

  2. What joyous spirits you have around you – I want to give each and everyone of them a hug! Also very jealous of your new state of the art veggie patch..all those pushed together makes one garden in London. Sigh..hope you are going to be singing to all the baby plants – just to make them feel at home…xxxxx

There is no sin except stupidity.

